top of page
original_81bbe3b68a7bf9ae1ce6cf8c154a5251 (1).gif
Writer's pictureKameron Villafana

ZODIAC SIGNS AS INDICATORS OF TRUE LOVE

As I was perusing through TikTok (normal Gen Z things), I happened to stumble upon a short skit by a content creator talking about the way in which people talk about zodiac signs. The post was titled "How people sound when they talk about zodiac signs" Although I'm a very proud Libra, I still ahve my skepticism about the validity of these stereotypes. As a psychology major, I'm not too privy to the idea of the stars deciding how your personality is, and rather take a more methodical approach to the situation. However, I can't deny how fun it is to read someone their signs and make pre-judgements about them. Think of it as something akin to Harry Potter fans discussing the house they belong to.

Suffice to say, zodiac signs are important to the religious believers in them. So much so that there are people who exclusively date certain signs and avoid others, and they happen to have a real belief as though the person's zodiac sign is an indicator of whether they are a perfect match. What if I told you that although I don't believe in the science behind the belief in zodiac stereotypes, they still very much can be real? Such is the case that I find interest in–the phenomenon that people will act in accordance with their zodiac signs based on belief and stereotypes that they should act that way. The only reason theses stereotypes are accurate is because they sort of in a way created themselves. The average non-believing pisces won't behave in the way a pisces is expected to, but you should think about the average believing pisces, one that knows the way a pisces is meant to act and thus subconsciously shapes their behavior in that way. This has pretty big implications for everything–not just zodiacs. And if you take it further, this is the way in which cultures are able to operate. So if I was able to convince you, zodiacs are still real, just not in the conventional sense. If you don't think that the stars would allow a beneficial relationship with that sagittarius that you found cute, the odds are you're probably right and it was actually you that wouldn't allow it.


13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BISEXUALITY AS A TRAVEL PATH

As a digital-bound little kid, most of my influences were online. I would look up YouTube influencers as they talked about their day in...

2 Comments


Lina Chen
Lina Chen
Dec 08, 2023

Scrolling through TikTok, I stumbled on a skit about zodiac talk. As a Proud Libra, but skeptical about stars defining personalities. As a psych major, I lean more methodical. Still, it's fun to read into signs and make judgments. Here's the twist: people act like their signs because they believe in them. Non-believing Pisces? Meh. Believing ones? They might mold themselves to fit the Pisces mold. It's like cultures, you know? Convinced me—zodiacs are real, just not in the fate-deciding way. That Sagittarius crush? Stars or not, it's about your choice, not the constellations.

Like

Alan Phan
Alan Phan
Dec 05, 2023

Your take on zodiac signs and how they influence behavior is super interesting! I really liked the part about self-fulfilling prophecies in astrology really intriguing. It brings up the idea of manifestation and speaking the things you want into universe and how that that plays into our actions and interactions. Also your take on astrology brings something unique that I've never heard before, the idea that the stars may not directly impact our personality, but that strength of our beliefs definitely do. I think this thought could be more broadly applied to topics of religion and politics as well.

Like
bottom of page